STEM Teacher Award


The IOWA STEM Teacher Award, sponsored by Kemin Industries, is dedicated to honoring one teacher from each of the six STEM regions for their contribution and dedication to STEM in Iowa. Each winner will receive a $1,500 award with an additional $1,500 to be used in their classroom


Deadline to nominate a teacher is October

Nominations for the 2023 IOWA STEM Teacher Award close October 11.

To watch a video about the IOWA STEM Teacher Award, click here.

STEM Teacher award


2022 STEM Education Award

Donna Schmitt

Carver Elementary School, Dubuque Community Schools

2022 STEM Education Award

2021 STEM Education Award

Kenton Swartley

Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls Community Schools

Kenton Swartley

2020 STEM Education Award

Ann Arnold

Alternative Learning Center, Dubuque Community Schools

Ann Arnold

2019 STEM Education Award

Ann Gritzner

Central High School, Elkader

Ann Gritzner - 2019 Teacher award

2018 STEM Education Award

Stacey Snyder

Orange Elementary, Waterloo Community Schools

Snyder - 17-18 STEM Teacher Award

2017 STEM Education Award

Chelsie Byram (Slaba)

Dike-New Hartford High School

Slaba 2016-17 STEm Teacher Award

2016 STEM Education Award

Dirk Homewood

Cedar Falls High School

Homewood - 2015-16 STEM Teacher Award

2015 STEM Education Award

Lisa Chizek

North Tama County Elementary